The University of Latvia (UL, Universitas Latviensis) was founded on September 28, 1919 on the basis of former Riga Polytechnic (founded in 1862).

The University of Latvia is the first classical university in the history of Latvia and follows the slogan Scientiae et Patriae. It is an important academic and scientific centre which devotedly fulfills its mission, which encompasses the goals in research and academic aspiration: “The University of Latvia is a guarantee for the development of Latvia. The University of Latvia integrates diverse fields of research and studies with creative initiative to provide the higher education of European standard, to cultivate the Latvian language and traditions of cultural cooperation.”

Currently there are 13 faculties and 16 institutes at the UL which cover all fields of studies and research. The number of students at the UL is 15.000, making it one of the largest universities in the Baltic States.

The University of Latvia is located in Riga, Raiņa bulvāris 19. Map

Photos of University of Latvia

More information is available at

University of Latvia

University of Latvia

Comments are closed.